Hiking to David’s “Streams in the Desert”

img_7958

Picking up where we left off! After seeing the amazing ruins at Bet She’an, we loaded into the bus and headed for Jericho. Yes, you read that correctly. πŸ˜‰ This part of the country (near the Dead Sea) is right at the edge of the Negev Desert.

IMG_7817

On our way to Jericho, we stopped at the Jordan River to do baptisms… in the same water that Jesus was baptized in by John the Baptist!

IMG_7818

The fence in the middle of the river is the dividing border between Israel and Jordan. There were Jordan guards under the covered deck across the river.

IMG_7819

Several of our team members were baptized in the Jordan (most of them had already been baptized back home in their churches, but wanted to do it again here as an expression of love to JESUS!) and I cheered from the waters edge. I chose not to be baptized, mostly because I forgot to bring my swimming clothes to Israel (tears) and didn’t want to wade out in my dress. I wasn’t too distressed about it though, because I know that baptism does nothing to earn me salvation or merits in heaven… only Christ’s blood does that!

IMG_7971

God gave us such a special miracle during the baptisms. He sent a white dove to land near us, just before someone got dunked. Someone happened to capture it at is was landing, and I will treasure this photo forever!

 

“The next day John seeth Jesus coming unto him, and saith, Behold the Lamb of God, which taketh away the sin of the world. This is he of whom I said, After me cometh a man which is preferred before me: for he was before me. And I knew him not: but that he should be made manifest to Israel, therefore am I come baptizing with water. And John bare record, saying, I saw the Spirit descending from heaven like a dove, and it abode upon him. And I knew him not: but he that sent me to baptize with water, the same said unto me, Upon whom thou shalt see the Spirit descending, and remaining on him, the same is he which baptizeth with the Holy Ghost. And I saw, and bare record that this is the Son of God. Again the next day after John stood, and two of his disciples;”

John 1:32

 

IMG_7829

19 year old IDF soldiers… super sweet and tough. David is a Marine (β€οΈπŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ) and wanted a picture with them.

IMG_7830

After baptisms we drove to modern-day Jericho.

IMG_7832

Those are fig palms!

IMG_7833

Jericho is an Arab town, and feels like another country (third world). The few ornate mansions like this one looked as if they sprouted in the middle of a desert of trash and lawlessness.

IMG_7835IMG_7837IMG_7839

We kept thinking these were shells of bombed out, abandoned buildings… but actually they were building projects left undone. According to Itai (our guide), the Arabs start a building project, run out of money, and leave off until they get enough money to start again. lol

IMG_7840IMG_7841IMG_7842IMG_7843IMG_7847

The hill on the right is supposedly the Mt of Temptations where Satan tempted Jesus

IMG_7851IMG_7852IMG_7853

Samsung?? lol

IMG_7855

A very messy construction site.

IMG_7856IMG_7857

Whaaaa? Um, Merry Christmas to you, too! LOL

IMG_7858

They serve lemonade with mint everywhere in Israel, but each restaurant claims it as their own “specialty,” unique only to them, haha. It’s delicious and refreshing… I’ve been craving it since I got home! (Also craving falafel. Heart eyes 😍)

IMG_7860

(Such a cute wittle pitcher!!) We came to Jericho for the purpose of visiting their glass shop (apparently Jericho glass is world famous because it’s nearly unbreakable!) I was disappointed that we weren’t able to explore the tel of Jericho (the ancient mound that is the crumbled city of the Old Testament) but we did drive by it! There actually wasnt much to see, because what remains is fairly small, and really not worth stopping for unfortunately. 😦 I remember when I first found out that they had uncovered Jericho, and found pots of grain still perfectly preserved in all the ash and destruction. Gives me chills!

IMG_7861IMG_7862

I thought this was hilarious. I regret not buying it, lol

IMG_7863IMG_7871

First view of the Dead Sea as we drove to Engedi… David’s hiding place and the “streams in the desert”!

IMG_7872

Difference between Arab and Israeli towns: The Israelis have recycling bins πŸ˜‰

IMG_7962

At this point in the tour we had to say good bye to our fantastic tour guide, Itai (on the right) and meet a new tour guide named Marla. Itai is in high demand and had to join another tour group for the remainder of the week.

IMG_7873IMG_7876

Sitting in the literal “sheepcotes” that David talks about, while reading the story of David cutting off Sauls robe! I can’t believe I explored the place where this incredible and deep story took place:

“And it came to pass, when Saul was returned from following the Philistines, that it was told him, saying, Behold, David is in the wilderness of Engedi.

Then Saul took three thousand chosen men out of all Israel, and went to seek David and his men upon the rocks of the wild goats.

And he came to the sheepcotes by the way, where was a cave; and Saul went in to cover his feet: and David and his men remained in the sides of the cave.”

1 Samuel 24: 1 – 3

IMG_7878

Then the hike began through the desert ravine, full of caves and brush to the hidden springs of Engedi…

IMG_7879IMG_7884IMG_7893

Imagine how ideal these reeds were for David and his mighty men as they hid from Saul!

IMG_7894

I filmed as we ducked under the reeds if you want to watch it.

IMG_7895IMG_7896IMG_7898IMG_7899IMG_7900IMG_7902

 

Also filmed as we rounded the corner to the end of the hike… the desert waterfall. It’s a gem flowing from the heart of a hot, dusty desert.

IMG_7904

On the hike in, we saw several caves high up on the ridges of the ravine. The gaping hole to the left of the waterfall is the biggest one we saw. I asked Cliff which cave he thought it was that David and his men would have been hiding in, and he’s inclined to think it’s this one. The setting is like a dream come true for an adventurer at heart…

IMG_7906

I choose to believe this was the cave where the mighty men would have been hiding… It makes the most sense out of all the ones we saw, and is nearest the water source. To think it could be the place where this took place:

“And he came to the sheepcotes by the way, where was a cave; and Saul went in to cover his feet: and David and his men remained in the sides of the cave.

And the men of David said unto him, Behold the day of which the LORD said unto thee, Behold, I will deliver thine enemy into thine hand, that thou mayest do to him as it shall seem good unto thee. Then David arose, and cut off the skirt of Saul’s robe privily.

And it came to pass afterward, that David’s heart smote him, because he had cut off Saul’s skirt.

And he said unto his men, The LORD forbid that I should do this thing unto my master, the LORD’S anointed, to stretch forth mine hand against him, seeing he is the anointed of the LORD.

So David stayed his servants with these words, and suffered them not to rise against Saul. But Saul rose up out of the cave, and went on his way.

David also arose afterward, and went out of the cave, and cried after Saul, saying, My lord the king. And when Saul looked behind him, David stooped with his face to the earth, and bowed himself.

And David said to Saul, Wherefore hearest thou men’s words, saying, Behold, David seeketh thy hurt?

Behold, this day thine eyes have seen how that the LORD had delivered thee to day into mine hand in the cave: and some bade me kill thee: but mine eye spared thee; and I said, I will not put forth mine hand against my lord; for he is the LORD’S anointed.

Moreover, my father, see, yea, see the skirt of thy robe in my hand: for in that I cut off the skirt of thy robe, and killed thee not, know thou and see that there is neither evil nor transgression in mine hand, and I have not sinned against thee; yet thou huntest my soul to take it.

Β The LORD judge between me and thee, and the LORD avenge me of thee: but mine hand shall not be upon thee.

As saith the proverb of the ancients, Wickedness proceedeth from the wicked: but mine hand shall not be upon thee.

After whom is the king of Israel come out? after whom dost thou pursue? after a dead dog, after a flea.

The LORD therefore be judge, and judge between me and thee, and see, and plead my cause, and deliver me out of thine hand.

And it came to pass, when David had made an end of speaking these words unto Saul, that Saul said, Is this thy voice, my son David? And Saul lifted up his voice, and wept.

And he said to David, Thou art more righteous than I: for thou hast rewarded me good, whereas I have rewarded thee evil.

And thou hast shewed this day how that thou hast dealt well with me: forasmuch as when the LORD had delivered me into thine hand, thou killedst me not.

For if a man find his enemy, will he let him go well away? wherefore the LORD reward thee good for that thou hast done unto me this day.

And now, behold, I know well that thou shalt surely be king, and that the kingdom of Israel shall be established in thine hand.

Swear now therefore unto me by the LORD, that thou wilt not cut off my seed after me, and that thou wilt not destroy my name out of my father’s house.

And David sware unto Saul. And Saul went home; but David and his men gat them up unto the hold.”

 

1 Samuel 24 : 3 – 22

 

Eventually I’m going to do a separate post about how the Lord opened my eyes to see new meaning in this passage. But for now here are more photos and I’ll let you use your own imagination:

IMG_7907IMG_7916IMG_7928

The lighting was surreal-ly perfect in this spot!

IMG_7911IMG_7956.JPGIMG_7918

β€œThen shall the lame man leap as an hart, and the tongue of the dumb sing: for in the wilderness shall waters break out, and streams in the desert.” Isaiah 35:6

 

IMG_7919

β€œHe brought streams also out of the rock, and caused waters to run down like rivers.” Psalms 78:6

IMG_7920

He turneth the wilderness into a standing water, and dry ground into watersprings. Psalm 107:35

IMG_7917IMG_7938IMG_7939IMG_7940

Jackson and some of the daring young men scaled the ravine wall to a cave wayyy up high… can you make them out? (They aren’t the group on the trail)

IMG_7941.JPGIMG_7946

β€œThe high hills are a refuge for the wild goats; and the rocks for the conies.” Β Psalm 104:18

IMG_7947

β€œKnowest thou the time when the wild goats of the rock bring forth? or canst thou mark when the hinds do calve?” Job 39:1

IMG_7948

β€œThe conies are but a feeble folk, yet make they their houses in the rocks;” Proverbs 30:26

Conies are known nowadays as “rock bunnies” haha!

IMG_7960

Our hotel for the night was right on the Dead Sea!

IMG_7970FullSizeRender

SwimmingΒ FloatingΒ BOBBING in the Dead Sea like a CORK was HILARIOUS! Its the lowest point on earth and one of the natural wonders of the world. Its SO saturated with salt that it’s literally impossible to sink! I felt like the red bobber on the end of a fishing line… rolling all over the place and trying in vain to stay in one position LOL. One can only stay in for about 10 minutes at a time, because all that salt really starts to irritate any open body cavities. We had to be careful not to get water on our face.

FullSizeRender 2

Dinner was intense.

img_7972.jpg

I can never pass up falafel ; ) The yellow mush is fish, and in the mini sauce pan is an apple sausage crisp thing. It was good!

IMG_7974

Dessert was pretty fab!

IMG_7973

Liz was in heaven haha

 

I hope this post is a blessing to your spiritual walk… I purposely included a lot of related scripture in hopes that it will make your Bible reading more exciting! Who needs captions when you can let the Word speak for itself, right? πŸ˜‰

What came to mind as you scanned this post? I want to know! πŸ™‚

Wishing ya’ll a happy week!

6 thoughts on “Hiking to David’s “Streams in the Desert”

  1. WOW! This was probably one of my favorite posts about your trip so far. That cave….and that waterfall right in the desert is amazing. Was that “cave” where the vine/branches overlapped each other manmade? If not, that’s pretty neat they grew like that.
    What is falafel? And rock bunnies are coonies? I didn’t know that!
    I’ve always wanted to float, or should I say bob, in the Dead Sea. πŸ™‚ I would love to hear your new thoughts on 1 Samuel 24:3-22. Thank you for sharing all the wonderful pictures. It looks like you had an amazing experience!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Ashley! Sorry I’m so late in replying, I’ve been out of town! Thank you for commenting, it blesses me so much to hear how the pictures are blessing other people 😊 The vines over the cave are all natural πŸ˜† Pretty amazing, huh?? Our guide said that over time the cave might have changed in size, etc, so it doesn’t look exactly like it would have in Davids time. But if there were vines over it when David hid in it, that would have made for a pretty great concealment!

      Falafel is a ball of ground garbanzo beans and spices… sounds gross but tastes so good 😍

      You’ll get to bob in the Dead Sea one day, I just know it! πŸ˜‰ Start praying towards that dream and see what door God opens!! And when you make it over there, send me pictures πŸ˜„

      Working on my 1 Sam 24 post ☺️

      Thank you for reading!! You’re an encouragement!

      Like

Leave a comment